Get the look – Cheryl Cole Makeup Tutorial

Hey everyone, so I was looking through my archived posts today and thought that it would be fun to do a celebrity makeup tutorial, I am in no way a makeup artist and I do not look like Cheryl Cole but decided to give it a whirl anyway, I hope you all enjoy this post, this is the first time I’ve attempted to emulate a celebrity look, so I hope you all like it!

Products Used:
products used
(2true pro prime perfect, Rimmel London Wake Me Up Foundation in True Ivory, Collection Cover Up Stick in Light Translucent, Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in Fair, Technic High lights, Rimmel London Sun Shimmer 3D Bronzer in 001 Light, The V05 Smoothly Does It Frizz Free Creme, the V05 Plump It Up Dry Backcombing spray, Seventeen Blusher Brush, Mineral Power Brush, Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder in 003 Peach Glow, Rimmel Kate Lasting Perfection Lipstick in 11 Kiss Of Life, Lipcote, Avon Brush, Collection Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner, Soap and Glory Thick and Fast Mascara, Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Black Brown, Natural Collection Lip Lines in Plum, Laval Pencil Eyeliner in Black, Rimmel London Eye Magnifier Eye Opening Mascara, Comb)

As you can see I have used a lot of products to create this look but these are just my personal preferences, you can replace these products with ones that you prefer of you can omit certain products these are just the ones I used for this look, anyway on with the tutorial.

Step One: Prep and Prime
step 1 prime
The first step is to cleanse the face of all makeup I used Nivea 2 in 1 Cleanser and Toner to remove all of my makeup first, once this is done add your primer, I’ve used the 2true Pro Prime Perfect to smooth out any unevenness and to act as a base for my makeup, Ive applied the primer across my entire face including my eyelids and up to my brow bone, you can buy this primer here.

Step Two: Add Foundation and Concealer
step two add foundation and concealer

Cheryl Cole has skin that is darker than mine, so it was important for me to use one of my darker foundations to create this look. First I applied my Collection Cover Up Stick in Light Translucent and I applied it across any areas of my face that were red and blotchy, I blended this in with my Avon brush until the redness was not as obvious as I didn’t want it to shine through the foundation. You can buy the Collection Cover Up Stick here. After my cover up I then applied my Rimmel London Wake Me Up Foundation in True Ivory, this shade is a shade to dark for me however when it’s completely blended in and I wear powder over the top I can manage with it. The Rimmel London Wake Me Up Foundation is fairly thick and has a high coverage, it can apply quite patchy until you blend it in so if you have very dry skin I wouldn’t recommend this foundation, however if you want to try it you can buy it here. I then used my Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in Fair and dabbed it over any blemishes and spots I had before using it to conceal my under eye circles, I blended this in with my Avon brush as well. The Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer is currently being raved about but I do quite like it as it covers up my blemishes but blends into my foundation and isn’t too sheer or chalky, you can pick yours up here. If you are using a foundation that is slightly dark for you be sure to blend it into your jawline and neck to prevent any ahem slag lines.

Step Three: Contour and Mattify
add bronzer, highlighter, powder
(Apologies for the strange face it’s to show the contouring also on the left side it is blended in properly but the lighting isn’t great here so it looks like I’ve just drawn a big line on this photo)

The next step is to echo (or in my case create) Cheryl’s stunning high cheekbones, to do this we use the art of contouring. First of all I used my Seventeen blusher brush (I don’t wear bronzer enough to bother buying a bronzer brush) and used it to apply my Rimmel London Sun Shimmer 3D Bronzer in 001 Light. I applied my bronzer by sucking in my cheeks to make my cheekbones stand out and then I swept the bronzer just under my cheekbones from near my mouth up to near my brow bone. I wouldn’t recommend the Seventeen blusher brush to anyone because despite its softness the bristles fall out really easily and you end up with them all over your face, you can view it here though if you wish to. The Rimmel London bronzer isn’t the best bronzer in the world, I wanted one that wasn’t orange or muddy but this one is so fair that I have to spend ages trying to build up the colour however it is nice to add a subtle shimmer to your skin, you can purchase it here. Once I was happy with my contouring I then used my Technic High Lights Complexion Highlighter to add more dimension to my face and to make my bone structure pop. I applied it just above my cupids bow to enchance the shape of my lips, then across my cheekbones to make them stand out. I’ve mentioned thi highlighter in many posts but for those new to my blog this is a great highlighter and an excellent dupe for Benefits High Beam you can buy this highlighter here. I finally used my mineral brush to add my Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder in 003 Peach Glow to mattify and set my makeup and I didn’t want it shifting whilst I was working on my eyes, this gets rid of all shine but without looking cakey, you can purchase this powder here.

Step Four: Line Eyes and Apply Mascara
line eyes and add mascara edit
(Sorry for the bad quality I’m not sure why this photo turned out blurry)

One of Cheryl’s most prominent features is her stunning eyes with her long lashes and smokey eye so I’ve recreated that look. First I applied my Laval Black Pencil eyeliner on my bottom waterline before using my Collection Extreme 24Hr Felt Tip Liner to create a bold line on my upper lash lineand going over the pencil eyeliner on my lower lash line. The Laval Pencil Eyeliner isn’t great in all honesty but it is very cost friendly for those who don’t have a lot of money and you can buy it here. I’m in two minds about the Collection Extreme 24Hr Felt Tip Liner, it’s very black when it goes on but the formula is quite watery so I find myself having to over the lines repeatedly with it to get the black I want, I wouldn’t recommend it and will be looking for a better felt tip liner but if you wish to purchase it you can buy it here.

Once I was satisfied with my eyeliner I then used my Rimmel London Eye Magnifier Eye Opening Mascara to lengthen and separate my lashes before using my Soap and Glory Thick and Fast Mascara to build up lots of volume without having clumped eyelashes. Unfortunately Rimmel London have discontinued the Eye Magnifier mascaras however the Soap and Glory Thick and Fast mascara is absolutely amazing (it went into my March favourites) and is available for ten pounds here.

Step Five: Groom Brows
groom brows edit

Cheryl Cole always rocks beautifully groomed pencil thin brows but unfortunately for me my eyebrows have a lot of gaps in and are not as well shaped and so I had to groom mine. I used the Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Black/Brown to fill in the gaps in my eyebrows and arch them a little more. This eyebrow pencil is honestly amazing and can be purchased here, I’d recommend this particular shade to anyone with medium brown to black hair.

Step Six: Line and Colour Lips
red lips edit
(Sorry for the blurriness also the lipstick colour is much more pigimented than it looks here)

The next step is to recreate Cheryl’s rocking red lip, I used the Natural Collection Lip Lines in Plum to line my lips to prevent my lipstick from bleeding, it’s quite a moisturising lip liner, holds really well and matches my lipstick perfectly, for some reason it isn’t available online however it is sold in Boots stores for one to two pounds and is really good. I then  used my Rimmel Kate Lasting Finish Lipstick in 11 Kiss of Life which is a deep wine red and a lot more bold than it appears in the photo, this lipstick is very pigmented and glides on the only qualm I have is that it fades quickly and clings to dry patches on your lips rather than fading evenly, so I also applied Lipcote lip sealer to hold it in place for longer. You can buy this lipstick here and the lip sealer here.

Step Six: Curl hair
finished look and hair

My hair is naturally wavy but I wanted a little more volume so I used the V05 Dry backcombing spray and combed my roots upwards to plump up my hair a little bit, you can purchase this product here. Using a fine toothed comb I also squirted my V05 Frizz Free Creme onto the comb and brushed the comb through any frizzy parts of my hair, I used the comb so my hair wouldn’t end up sticky and clumbed together and managed to create this tousled look. If you prefer a more textured look then you can use salt spray or mousse but my mousse had run out so I had to go without. You can buy the V05 Frizz Free Creme here.

Overall I hope you enjoyed this post, I know I don’t look much like Cheryl Cole but I did like the makeup look I created and I hope you guys did too. If you enjyoed this post please hit the like button and if you want to let me know what you think about this look please leave a comment!

Love X
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Makeup Tutorials, Wearable Makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

