Tutorial – How to get Tousled Curls/Beach Waves

Hey everyone, so today I’m going to be teaching you how I achieve one of my favourite looks which is the tousled curls or as some people prefer to call it beach waves. I’m also breaking one of my rules and will be posting a photo of myself on here today to show you the hairstyle. I’ll be taking you through which products I use to achieve this look but please bear in mind that I have naturally wavy hair so this routine may not necessarily work for those with super straight hair.

Step One: Wash Hair
shamp-and-cond
So the first thing I do to achieve this look is to wash my hair, I use the Alberto Balsam Juicy Green Apple Shampoo (buy it here) which I have mentioned in many a post and I’ve also been using the Macadamia Oil Extract Conditioner which I’m not going to go into details about as it will be appearing in a future post. There’s not much else to say really I wash my hair and then I apply the conditioner to the ends of my hair (or if my hair has been really dry my entire head) and then I rinse it out.

Step Two: Towel Dry Hair and Apply Products
loreal-and-vo5
After my hair is washed I towel dry it but I always make sure that it is still damp, it’s important not to brush through your hair otherwise the curls will end up turning into a frizzy mane which is definitely not the look you want to achieve. Once my hair is moist but not soaking I use the V05 Smoothly Does It Curl Defining Mousse, (purchase it here) I take a generous amount and apply it evenly through my hair making sure that all of my hair is covered from the tips to the roots and I really scrunch my hair up to help develop the curls. In the photo I’ve also included the L’oreal Studioline Matt and Messy Salt Spray, although I don’t like this product as it leaves my have very dry, for those of you with oily hair this may be suitable for you rather than the mousse and you can purchase it here.

Step Three: Banish the Frizz
frizz-free-cream
As my hair currently needs a trim and has split ends and it also slightly damaged from my constant bleaching and colouring of the ends, the ends of my hair are always prone to looking really frizzy, so after I’ve added my mousse I like to add this product just on the ends, it’s the V05 Smoothly Does It Frizz Free Cream and it just makes sure that my curls are textured rather than frizzy, you can buy it here.

Step Four: Put Hair In A Topknot
I’ve not included a photo for this step( because quite frankly I look ridiculous with my hair in a topkno_t but despite this once my I’ve applied all of the products to my hair I always have it up in a topknot on the top of my head (don’t use a brush when doing this just use your hands). This is partially because when I go to sleep I hate my hair being down as it’s uncomfortable to sleep on and obviously ponytails leave me with the same problem, but this is a valid step as I’ve found that it really helps the curls develop overnight.

Step Five: Let It Dry Naturally
Again I’ve not added a photo but the last step is to leave your hair in the topknot overnight and to let it dry naturally, using hairdryers don’t help the curls if I’m honest and letting your hair dry naturally is much less damaging.

Step Six: Let Down Your Hair The Next Day
The final step doesn’t occur until the next day (I always shower on an evening so my hair is ready in the morning), but the next day just take your hair out of the topknot and shake it out and voila you now should (hopefully) have tousled curls/sexy beach waves. This is how they look on me.

tousled curls
I hope you enjoyed this post, please hit the like button if you did. If there’s a particular way you achieve beach waves or a particular product that you use to get curls feel free to let me know in the comments, as always I love to hear from you all!

 

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Hair and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tutorial – How to get Tousled Curls/Beach Waves

  1. alicesvision says:

    I tried out your technique and It works really well, thank you! 😁✌️

  2. Ellie Parker says:

    Going to try this tonight! 🙂 thanks!

Leave a Reply

