Feeling Blue – The best and the worst blue nail polishes

Hi everyone, so as you have guessed by the title, today’s post is on blue nail polishes, I’ve tried five different colours so hopefully you’ll manage to find one that you like.
blue-nails
(From little finger to thumb: W7 Wild Blue, Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear Nail Color in Blinding Blue, Miss Sporty Lasting Colour Maxi Brush Nail Polish in Hypnotic Turquoise, Barry M Gelly Hi Shine Nail Paint in Blueberry, Technic Party Brights Nail Varnish in Koh Phangan.)

W7 Nail Polish in Wild Blue
w7-dark-blue-polish
I’m actually really impressed with this polish, for those of you who don’t know W7 is quite a cost friendly brand and as with all low end brands I often worry that the results are going to be rubbish, but I do really like this polish. The colour payoff is amazing, I know that the swatch isn’t great but I’ve had this polish a while so it’s gone gloopy, but it is a royal blue. The formula is fairly thick so you don’t need to apply multiple coats to get the same colour that’s in the bottle which I’m very impressed with. The brush is a standard thin nail brush which I personally like as my nails are very small (especially as I bite them) so fat nail polish brushes always lead to messy application with my nails. The only slight downside to this product is that the longevity isn’t amazing, you can expect the polish to last a couple of days which isn’t bad, but I wouldn’t recommend this if you want to leave it on all week because chances are it will chip. Overall though I really like this product and you can purchase it for as little as £1.33 here (UK residents) and for £2.99 here (USA residents).

Sally Hansen Hard As Nails Xtreme Wear Nail Color in Blinding Blue
sally-hansen-blinding-blue

I tried this polish for the first time today and I absolutely love it. Firstly the formula is absolutely amazing, it’s thick and has an excellent colour payoff so I only needed one coat to achieve the exact same colour in the bottle which I was super impressed with. The colour is absolutely stunning it’s lovely and bright and is a nice sky blue which is so perfect for spring. The application was also easy again the brush is a standard nail varnish brush which I prefer so the polish went on really smoothly. Although I’ve not had this polish on for long it still has zero chips and I’ve used Sally Hansen before and it lasted for ages. You can view her range here.

Miss Sporty Lasting Colour Nail Polish in Hypnotic Turquoise
miss-sporty-turquoise
I have to say I’m slightly disappointed with this polish as a whole. The formula itself isn’t too bad although you do need two coats as it’s a little on the thin side. The colour is a huge disappointment to me, in the bottle it looks very blue with hints of green but on my nails it’s way more green than I expected. The polish doesn’t last that long before it starts to chip and definitely does not last ten days which it claims to. The brush is also one of those wide, flat brushes which isn’t great for me as it’s difficult to cover my entire nail with. Finally despite the chipping the glitter in it means that it’s quite difficult to get off. On it’s own it’s a nice colour I do like the shimmer in it as well but I’m still disappointed because it’s definitely not what I expected. If you fancy trying it anyway though you can buy it here, it’s reasonably priced at £1.99 and for the low price it is pretty good considering. I’ve tried worst nail polishes.

Barry M Hi Gelly Shine Nail Paint in Blueberry
barry-m-gelly-hi-shine-blueberry
I absolutely adore these nail polishes to the moon and back. Firstly the formula is great, it’s nice and thick so you only need one coat and the finish is really shiny and glossy which I absolutely adore. This colour is Blueberry and as you can see is a pastel blue with an excellent colour payoff.  This was the first Barry M Gelly Hi Shine Nail Paint that I tried and I loved it so much that I also picked up Watermelon which is a deep green and Prickly Pear which is a lovely lilac. The brush is nice and thin making the application a lot easier for me which I really like and the longevity is absolutely amazing. I had this polish on a couple of weeks ago and it easily lasts a week before chipping, so it’s really good for those who don’t like painting their nails regularly. You can purchase this polish here for £3.99 which is a bargain as they’re great quality.

Technic Party Brights Nail Varnish in Koh Phangan
technic-koh-phangan
Again I’m slightly disappointed with this nail polish. As you can see by the swatch the colour is very pale compared to the colour in the bottle which really frustrating for me. The formula is very thin so I literally had to blob the nail varnish on to get a decent colour which I was very disappointed with. The brush is a standard nail polish brush but because of the thin formula the application is still pretty tricky. The longevity isn’t great either, it tends to chip fairly quickly which is a nuisance as I don’t like having to constantly re paint my nails. It’s at a low price for £1.99 so if you’re on a budget it’s not a bad product for the price I think the paler colours may be better. You can purchase this colour here.

I hope you enjoyed this post, if you did please hit the like button. Also I’m a huge nail polish addict so if you want to recommend me any nail polishes or tell me which colours you will be rocking this spring, feel free to let me know in the comments.

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Nails and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Feeling Blue – The best and the worst blue nail polishes

  1. alicesvision says:

    Love this post as a fellow nail polish addict! Personally my favourite is the miss sporty one! 😄💅

  2. Ellie Parker says:

    The Barry M one is so pretty! Definitely going to have to invest in some of the Hi Gelly Shine polishes, great post thank you 🙂

  3. Sunny says:

    Hi! 😀
    I nominated you for the Liebster award. Have fun! ^^

    xoxo
    Sun

Leave a Reply

