Skincare Masterclass – What skin type you have, skin issues and product recommendations.

Hey everyone, so today’s post has a long title as it’s going to be a long post, but I think it will be quite helpful to a lot of you as I’m going to be discussing how to tell what skin type you have, how to deal with skin issues such as sensitive skin, breakouts and acne and some product recommendations for each skin type based on my own experiences.

Some people may tell you that you need to see a professional dermatologist to learn what skintype you have, personally I think this is a waste of time and money, you can find out in this post how to work out your skin type and what products I would recommend. Please bear in mind that despite my recommendations and knowledge everyone is different so what works for me may not necessarily work for you but hopefully I can at least offer some guidance.

Tutorial to discover your skintype
1) Wash your face with soap and pat dry with a clean towel
A lot of people will advise that you use a cleanser however I would stick to normal soap for this tutorial simply because a cleanser may affect the PH balance of your skin or make it look more oily or dry which can affect the results and the point of this tutorial, so to start with wash your face with warm water and soap and pat dry with a towel (don’t scrub as it will cause your skin to look red and blotchy affecting the results.)

2) Wait an hour and don’t touch your face
The next step is to wait an hour, this is because immediately after washing your face, the blood will rush to the surface of your skin making it appear redder so it will be difficult to identify your skintype. After an hour your skin will have returned to it’s natural state, also don’t touch your face as you will transfer any bacteria from anything you have touched to your face.

3) Dab your face with a tissue paying particular attention to your T-zone (this is the area of your nose and forehead)
This just makes sure that any soap or dirt trapped on your t-zone will be wiped away meaning that you can get a closer look at your skintype.

4) Identify your skin type
Now you’ve done the tutorial take a good look at your skin. There are four types of skin: Normal, Combination, Dry and Oily. I personally have Combination skin, but rather than going into that I’m going to explain the different types of skin and what products you should use.

Normal Skin: If you have normal skin you’re skin shouldn’t feel dry or oily and should feel soft and supple. If you have this skin type you should feel very lucky as it’s the easiest to manage. This doesn’t mean that you can get away without Cleansing, Toning and Moisturising though!

I recommend: Garnier Simply Essentials Soothing Water Lily Extract Comforting Cleansing Lotion which you can buy here and the Garnier Simply Essentials Soothing Toner which you can purchase here.

I’d Avoid: Anything too drying or greasy which may irritate your skin, and ensure that you always wear sunscreen on hot days, just because your skin is normal it doesn’t mean that you’re immune!

Dry Skin: If you have white flaky skin on areas of your face or dry patches then this is you. Dry skin is linked with small pores and often needs moisturising.

I recommend: Ponds Cold Cream Cleanser which you can purchase here and if your skin is super dry, itchy and is prone to conditions such as Eczema, Oilatum Cream should soothe and moisturise without irritating your skin, it can be purchased here.

I’d Avoid: Products containing sea salt. Whilst exfoliating scrubs containing Dead Sea Salt may be great for rubbing away the dry skin, the salt also dries out your skin so will make the dryness worse.

Oily Skin:
If your face feels greasy, looks shiny and you suffer from regular breakouts this is you. Don’t despair though it can be dealt with in a number of ways.

I recommend: Sk:n Vitamin-Rich Cleanser for Oily Skin which you can purchase here. Another great product also is La Roche-Posay Effaclar Purifying Foaming Gel for Oily Sensitive skin, you can also purchase that here.

I’d Avoid: Anything super greasy or overly moisturising such as Olay products as they will add to the oil and increase the number of breakouts on your skin.

Combination Skin: This usually exhibits traits of all three of the other skintypes, for example I suffer from dry patches around my nose and across my cheekbones, blotchiness and spots on the lower half of my cheeks and my chin, and normal skin everywhere else.

I recommend: Nivea Daily Essentials 2 in 1 Cleanser & Toner for Normal & Combination Skin which you can purchase here. It’s moisturising enough to help treat any dry patches but doesn’t leave your skin red and blotchy. For extra hydrating I also love the Nivea Soft Refreshingly Soft Moisturising Cream which you can buy here.

I’d avoid: Anything overly moisturising/greasy such as Olay products and anything super drying such as sea salt which may make your skin troubles worse.

Dealing with problems such as Acne, Sensitive Skin and Breakouts.

Acne can be really horrible to suffer with, some people have it so severe that they need medicine and have to have regular consultations with Dermatologists, others may have a more mild version. The best product (I’ve found) to use is the Body Shop Tea Tree Range which I’ve found reduces acne in a few days. You can view the range here.

Sensitive skin can be a real pain, I suffer with it and have reacted to Simple, Olay, Montagne Jeunesse products to name a few. I’ve found though that the Nivea range is really soothing (I’ve linked the products above) also the Beauty Formulas Cool Moist Cucumber 3 minute clay mask is really nice, despite the low cost it’s really soothing and cooling and is one of the few products not to cause my skin to flare up, you can buy it here.

Breakouts can always be really horrible, I’ve found that toothpaste works a treat on my skin, I’m not going to recommend any products here because it depends on your skin type but I’ve found that products containing Witch Hazel tend to be especially good so if you regularly suffer from breakouts and find that Clean and Clear or Clearisil just doesn’t work for you try the Witch range which you can find here.

I hope you enjoyed this post, please give it a like if you did, also feel free to let me know your skintype and any product recommendations you have in the comments, I always love hearing from you all!

 

 

 

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Skincare and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Skincare Masterclass – What skin type you have, skin issues and product recommendations.

  1. Ellie Parker says:

    Really useful post today, thanks Nina x

  2. Anne Louise says:

    I liked this! I have combination skin, leaning more to the oily side. Kiehl’s ultra facial oil free cleanser is a long time favorite face wash of mine, particularly in the summer or before applying long lasting makeup. Their Rare earth cleanser is also great.

Leave a Reply

