Maybelline Baby Lips and Rimmel London Apocalips (Double Review)

Hey everyone, today I’m going to be doing a double review on two products which I picked up yesterday, tried today and have already fallen in love with. I’m reviewing them together as one is a balm and acts really well as a base and the other is a lacquer and acts as the perfect finish. Both products can be worn together or on their own, in case you didn’t guess by the title the products in question are the Maybelline Baby Lips in Cherry Me and the Rimmel London Apocalips Lip Lacquer in Eclipse. Here’s a photo of the products:
baby-lips-and-apocalips-products
(Left to Right: Maybelline Baby Lips in Cherry Me and Rimmel London Apocalips Lip Lacquer in Eclipse)

As you can see both products have pretty packaging, the Maybelline packagine is really cute and summery and instantly makes me thing of summer holidays and cocktails on the beach. The Rimmel London has a more darker feel the crystal inspired lid screams Sophistication and the darker packaging suggests an edginess. Now before I start the review properly I’m going to show you a nice swatch of the products on my skin
baby-lips-and-apocalips-swatches
(Left swatch is Maybelline Baby Lips in Cherry Me, right swatch is Rimmel London Apocalips Lip Lacquer in Eclipse.)

Maybelline Baby Lips in Cherry Me
baby-lips
As mentioned above I really love the packaging for this product, it’s really cute from the bright colours to the mini tube and the bubble writing. The product itself smells absolutely gorgeous, this one is Cherry Me and it smells like cherries, it’s a really fruity and summery scent and I just love it.

The product promises 8 hour hydration and claims to be nourishing for baby soft lips. It also apparently has a SPF 20 which is an added bonus. I put this product on this morning and it lasted quite a few hours, I’m not sure if it lasts the full eight hours but it is nice and hydrating it also has the perfect texture, not too sticky like gloss but not really waxy like Chapstick either. This balm is really great for a natural look, here’s what it looks like on it’s own on my lips.
baby-lips-on-me-edit
As you can see it has a nice natural looking tint and a nice shiny finish. The application was really easy too, it’s a simple twist up balm stick, so you don’t need to worry about gloopiness or mess.

The Maybelline Baby Lips are available in six flavours/colours including this one, the other ones are: Hydrate (not sure of the fragrance), Intense care (again not sure of the fragrance) Mint Fresh (I assume it smells like Mint), Pink Punch (not sure of fragrance), Peach Kiss (I assume smells like Peach) and of course Cherry Me. The products are really budget friendly at £2.99 and are an absolute bargain, I’ll definitely be trying the other flavours.

Rimmel London Apocalips Lip Lacquer in Eclipse
apocalips
I did mention that I also liked the sophisticated yet edgy packaging of this product, there’s just something about it for me that is really memorable and interesting. The product also smells quite nice, it’s difficult to describe but smells faintly fruity. Some people have really hated on this smell but I quite like it.

The product claims to combine the colour of a lipstick and lacquer shine of a lip gloss. The creamy conditioning formula features pure colour pigments leaving lips vibrant and glossy.

I have to say Rimmel have honestly struck gold with this product, it does exactly what it says, it’s super pigmented, I once did a tester on my hand in a morning and it lasted all day and night, also it does provide a super glossy finish which I adore. Better yet it adds a kind of stain to your lips which I love, so when the glossy shine fades you still have the matte bright colour on your lips rather than your lips looking patchy and gross. Here it is on my lips in the shade Eclipse.
apocalips-on-me-edit
(Apologies for the messy application, I’ve been testing different products on my lips today so excuse the smudginess of the close up)

As you can see the colour is really vibrant and my lips have a gorgeous glossy finish as well. The application is fairly difficult although the product has a doe foot application the fluid formula can smudge this.

The Rimmel London Apocalips Lip Lacquers are available in thirteen different shades which are: Galaxy (a browny purple), Celestial (a nude/peach), Nova (a hot pink), Apocalyptic (a pinky red), Big Bang (a bright red), Luna (a pale pinky beige), Stella (pink with slight orange undertones), Nude Eclipse (a pale nude), Eclipse (see above a berry plum), Across the Universe (a darker red), Shooting Star (a golden brown), Out of this world (a pale/dusky pink) and Aurora (a natural looking pink.)

The products are a little bit more expensive than the Baby Lips and are priced at £6.49 however they really are worth it and I will definitely be purchasing more colours. I just hope that Rimmel decide to do a deep purple as I’d definitely wear that!

I hope you enjoyed this post, if you have please hit the like button, also if you’ve tried any of these products or have any recommendations, feel free to let me know in the comment, as always I love hearing from you!

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maybelline Baby Lips and Rimmel London Apocalips (Double Review)

  1. Ellie Parker says:

    I’ve got th baby lips in pink punch and it smells so good but it doesn’t really hydrate my lips at all, maybe I’ll have to try this one 🙂 I really want to try the Rimmel one! Looks so nice on you 🙂 thanks for another great post.

    • Thank you, the Rimmel Apocalips as absolutely amazing and the colour range is great too! Also I’m surprised that you didn’t really like Baby Lips, it’s not the most hydrating product I’ve tried but it lasts a while and I like the tint and the scent 🙂

Leave a Reply

