Tutorial – How To Backcomb Hair

Hi everyone, so today as the title suggests I’m going to be teaching you how to backcomb your hair. Now there’s multiple different ways to do it and multiple different products you can use this is simply how I do it and what products I use.

What products you will need/what I use
hair-products
So from left to right the products I have used are:
V05 High Volume Weather Resistant Hairspray
V05 Plump It Up Dry Backcombing Spray
Schwarzkopf Gliss Shine Tonic
Bastiste Dry Shampoo in Blush
V05 Give Me Texture Oomph Powder
(and at the front a bog standard comb)

Step One:
So the first thing you need to is to straighten your hair. Now I am in no way insulting those with curly hair, my hair is naturally curly and I wear it like that most days, but for backcombing to work your hair must be straightened. So first thing’s first straighten your hair, here’s my hair when straightened.
straight
Step Two:
After I’ve straightened my hair I always spray some dry shampoo on it, this just stops it looking greasy which is important when applying lots of products and generally it makes my hair feel fresher, an added bonus is that dry shampoo also adds volume so next I add my dry shampoo.

Step Three:
After applying my dry shampoo I also spray my hair with my V05 Plump It Up Dry Backcombing Spray this helps to create volume but also prevents the amount of damage done to the hair. Now I wouldn’t recommend backcombing every day as it does create split ends and eventually will damage your hair if you do it too often. Because I like to backcomb my hair a lot I use this and it helps minimise the amount of damage done.

Step Four:
Now we’ve prepped the hair with products it’s time to start backcombing, to backcomb you need a small brush or a comb and the idea is to start at the ends of your hair and brush backwards which causes lots of knots to form, don’t be alarmed this is part of the process, those knots are what creates the volume (but also damages the hair), so work all the way up to your roots, do it on the top as well until you have two huge knots, one on each side of your head like this.
knots-anon-better
As you can see I have huge knots on the top of my head but underneath I’ve left a bit of hair unbackcombed, this is simply because we want to create a volumised look and if we backcomb every strand of hair we end up with a mess, so for longer hair I’d recommend leaving a bit underneath straight and going for the top most bits (my hair is layered so I go for the top layers and leave the very bottom of my hair alone)

Step Five
So you have huge knots on your head you look like a bird has roosted and created a nest from your hair, what next? Well seeing as the knots will be providing most of the volume we need them to stay in place, especially if like me you have thin and fine hair, so next I used V05 High Volume Weather Resistant Hairspray and I sprayed the knots and then directly underneath the knots to keep them in place.

Step Six
This is where we need to be gentle in order to turn that bird’s next into a volumised and structured hairstyle. So take a comb or a brush with a a small amount of bristles and carefully brush down the knots, now you’re NOT aiming to brush the knots out what you want to do is use the very top parts of your hair to cover up the knots so your hair looks really puffed out and big but not messy. So carefully brush down the topmost strands and use them to conceal the huge knots.

Step Seven
After this I massaged my V05 Give Me Texture Instant Oomph Powder into my roots to stop them looking flat, and then I sprayed my Schwarzkopf Gliss Shine Tonic to stop my hair looking dull, the end result was this.
backcomb-end
As you can see here I’ve brushed the top layers of my hair outwards and used them to cover the knots thus creating the illusion that my hair is really big and volumised.

Step Eight
I prefer having my hair down when it’s backcombed but if you like classy looks you can create a volumised ponytail with backcombed hair or you can sweep it into a classy and structured up-do the choice is yours.

 

Do you like backcombing your hair? What products do you use? Let me know in the comments! Also if you enjoyed this post or found it useful please don’t forget to like 🙂

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Hair and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tutorial – How To Backcomb Hair

  1. alicesvision says:

    Really good tutorial! Your hair looks volumized and really cool 🙂

  2. Great post! I’ve just posted an article on Products For Thick Hair, please take a look 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

